Forums

The Circle of Swords Gaming Guild :: Forums :: COSQuest Live-Action Roleplaying Game Forums :: COS Quest Rules Q&A

<< Previous thread | Next thread >>
Prestige Question
Moderators: Lucas, dave, Curt R, davie, Taylor
Author Post
Steven Corwin
Fri May 18 2018, 01:05p.m.
Registered Member #3633

I apologize if this has been answered in another thread already. I'm not good at searching for info on this forum.
Anyway, my question is regarding the Noted, Known and Renowned Prestige traits. In the rules it state that these traits are class, occupation or profession specific. But does that mean that only other people of that specific class, occupation or profession would recognize what that prestige trait is?
Example Mike is a Renowned Alchemist. Mike tells Jane and Sally that he's a Renowned Alchemist. Sally is also an alchemist and may have heard of Mike. But Jane is not an alchemist. Does this mean that Jane has no idea what a "Renowned Alchemist" is or simply that she most likely hadn't heard of Mike before and probably isn't impressed?

Finnik
Mon May 21 2018, 09:22a.m.
Registered Member #213

Since we haven’t gotten an official ruling, I’ll voice my opinion...
In your example, I feel that Sally 100% knows of Mikes Alchemy prestige but nothing more than his name and he is a banging alchemist.
Jane hasn’t a clue. She might know Mike. She might know Mike is an alchemist. But nothing is automatically recognizable for her.

Even if someone says they are noted, known, or renowned, no one can prove it crept for those of that profession or class.
FeatheredOne
Mon May 21 2018, 11:50a.m.
Registered Member #224

It says it right in the description of the prestige in the rulebook, right?

[CLASS] OF NOTE / NOTED Class Specific Characters who are Fighters, Rogues, etc. have begun to make a slight name for themselves in their Class circles within the realm.
and