Forums

The Circle of Swords Gaming Guild :: Forums :: COSQuest Live-Action Roleplaying Game Forums :: COS Quest Rules Q&A
 
<< Previous thread | Next thread >>
Pariah questions
Moderators: Lucas, dave, Curt R, davie, Taylor
Author Post
Brif Stoneworth
Wed Jan 08 2020, 10:35a.m.
Registered Member #52
Joined: Sun Feb 11 2007, 06:13p.m.

Posts: 466
I have some questions about the ninth level harming spell, pariah...

For the example Bob is going to use the skill courage on his party during a fight. I hope I've captured all scenarios below.

Target:
Is the target of the spell the user or the recipient of the courage effect? I.e. would one pariah cast on Bob negate the skill completely or does the spell need to be cast individually on each party member?

Timing:
Bob uses the skill at the beginning of a fight and is then hit with pariah, is the effect removed from the party.

Bob is hit with Pariah and then uses courage... does anything happen

Bob uses courage on the party and then a party member is hit with pariah, does it remove courage

Suppression or Negation:
If Bob uses courage, and then gets hit with pariah, and then has the curse removed, does the courage effect work, then 'shut off', then come back on?

Thanks,
Henry

Back to top
scorch
Thu Jan 09 2020, 12:30p.m.
Registered Member #125
Joined: Sun Feb 11 2007, 06:13p.m.

Posts: 604

Back to top
Marr
Thu Jan 09 2020, 08:50p.m.
Registered Member #97
Joined: Sun Feb 11 2007, 06:13p.m.

Posts: 199
so pariah stops the TARGET from being affected by other people's beneficial effects.

Even if bob gets hit with pariah he can still use courage/inspiration/leadership/sanctuary/etc normally but he himself can not get those bonuses from others till the curse is gone

the only skill that bob can not use is sanctuary other since he is now non friendly to the one he wants to sanctuary

is pariah a curse?
Back to top
scorch
Fri Jan 10 2020, 09:31a.m.
Registered Member #125
Joined: Sun Feb 11 2007, 06:13p.m.

Posts: 604
It does specifically say it is a curse type effect.

It seems clear that if you target the recipient of Bob's courage or inspiration effect they lose their +1, fear immunity, etc. like Marr proposed. However, what Henry is asking is what if the source of the courage or inspiration - Bob himself- is the target. As stated in the description, he would no longer be an ally to the recipients of his courage, inspiration, etc. Being an ally is a prereq for courage, inspiration, etc. so it would imply Bob could no longer impart the benefits of courage, inspiration, etc. to non allies.

Pariah:
"This Offensive Spell prevents the target, which must be hit with a spell packet, from counting as an ‘ally’ for beneficial effects such as Courage, Inspiration, Leadership, Rally, Sanctuary, etc., only."

Inspiration:
This Ability allows the user to motivate up to 10 allies within a 10 foot radius of the user, giving them +1 to damage for one combat,

The wording would suggest you could both hit the source - Bob - and remove it for everyone, or you could hit an individual recipient and remove it just for them. I think Henry is just looking for confirmation/clarification from the rules board on what the intention was.

Back to top
Lucas
Sat Jan 11 2020, 06:25p.m.

Registered Member #1
Joined: Sat Dec 09 2006, 11:54p.m.

Posts: 2989
A slight clarification before the response. Courage and Rally do not require those affected to be allies, so even enemies within would have the effect negated per the current definitions. That may change for the new season once we talk about it. If we change it from ‘all or nothing’ for all targets within the radius to allies-only, we will address it for Pariah as well.

Other than that, it works both ways for using and being affected by abilities. After being hit with Pariah, a user has no allies to affect whether they use the skill or not. Nor can they be affected by someone else’s inspiration, etc.

If an ability is active prior to being hit with Pariah, if the user is the one with an active ability, it counts for any allies as if the user has fallen and is cancelled. If the target is affected by someone else’s ability and is hit with Pariah, then only the effect on the target is cancelled but everyone else is fine.

Yes, it’s a curse so a remove curse would dispel Pariah.
Back to top
Brif Stoneworth
Sat Jan 11 2020, 06:30p.m.
Registered Member #52
Joined: Sun Feb 11 2007, 06:13p.m.

Posts: 466
thanks
Back to top
 

Jump:     Back to top

Syndicate this thread: rss 0.92 Syndicate this thread: rss 2.0 Syndicate this thread: RDF
Powered by e107 Forum System